Menu >

DTT on Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories

The UK digital terrestrial TV (Freeview) network officially covers the United Kingdom of Great Britain (England, Scotland and Wales) and Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands (the Baliwicks of Jersey and Guernsey). There is some overspill into neighbouring countries, most notably the Republic of Ireland.

The overseas territories below have services that are outside the scope of this website, but collated here due to their British links.

Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands get the BFBS service. There are two slightly different setups, one from Mount Pleasant (MPA) for military users, and the other from Sapper Hill for civilian users in Stanley. As at March 2015, the channels are believed to be:

1BBC 1MPA only
2BBC 2MPA only
3ITVMPA only
4BFBS ExtraMPA only
5Sky Sports 1MPA only
6Sky Sports 2MPA only
7BFBS SportMPA only
8Sky News 
11BBC 1 - DelayedDelayed by four hours from UK time
12BBC 2 - DelayedDelayed by four hours from UK time
13ITV - DelayedDelayed by four hours from UK time
14BFBS Extra - DelayedDelayed by four hours from UK time

British Forces in other areas can also receive BFBS' DTT service. Although this is a UK provided DTT service, it is not broadcast here or in any way related. We have archive snapshots prior to 27th March 2013, and 2007.
On 27th March 2013 the BFBS service changed to instead provide the following channels: BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Sky News, BFBS Extra, BFBS Sport, Sky Sports 1, Sky Sports 2, CBBC, CBeebies. For more information see the BFBS website.

St Helena

St Helena has a subscription DVB-T2 network carrying 15 channels via Sure South Atlantic Ltd. As of Jun 2015, the channels are believed to be as follows:

2M-Net Movies Premiere
3M-Net Movies Drama & Romance
4M-Net Movies Action
5Super Sport One
6Super Sport Two
7Super Sport Three
8Super Sport Five
9Super Sport Six
10Super Sport Seven
11BBC Entertainment
12BBC World
14Cartoon Network
16BBC Lifestyle (local channel 1)
17National Geographic (local channel 2)

Note that these cover St Helena only, not the wider administrative area encompassing Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha (Ascension Island has a limited analogue BFBS service - see Falklands).


Gibraltar has a two mux service known as Gibraltar Freeview. This was implemented by Arqiva but otherwise has no relationship to the UK's Freeview. There is a DVB-T mux on UHF56, and DVB-T2 mux on UHF30. As at May 2015, the channels are believed to be as follows:

Al Jazeera English  

There is also a BFBS DTT service available "over cable" (see Falklands)

Other territories

The following list is based on that provided by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office as at Jan 2013, and contains the state of digital terrestrial TV service in each territory:

AnguillaNo known service
BermudaSubscription service provided by WOW
British Antartic TerritoryNo known service
British Indian Ocean TerritoryNo known service
British Virgin IslandsNo known service
Cayman IslandsNo known service
Falkland IslandsSee above
GibraltarSee above
MontserratNo known service
Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno IslandsNo known service
St Helena, Ascension Island and Tristan du CunhaSee above
South Georgia and South Sandwich IslandsNo known service
Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and DhekeliaNo known service
The Turks and Caicos IslandsNo known service